Menu

LA BOUCHE

SEARCHING FOR OSCAR

YET TO RULE

THE BIG HOUSE

SCARY MOTHER

Berlin Critics’ Week 2018: Urushadze, Popescu, Guerra, Restrepo and a collective

Suspenseful Georgia, the collectively constellated portrait of America’s largest football stadium, fantastical Romania, a critic’s anarchic potential on the film festival circuit, and songs to shake the manly soul: the first films of Berlin Critics’ Week 2018 are confirmed.

scary mother 2

The program of the 2018 Berlin Critics’ Week begins on February 15th at the Hackesche Höfe cinema with Georgian filmmaker Ana Urushadze’s “Scary Mother” (“Sashishi deda”), which won the award for best debut at Locarno. This psychological thriller depicts the life of a writer whose newly completed novel features a heroine who appears to be taking inordinate pleasure in explicating how much she hates her family. Art comes too close to life the moment the writer’s husband and children learn of the plot. Amidst the brutalist concrete buildings, an absurdist drama unfolds of a life pitched between repression, emancipation, faith in art, and madness.

Celebrating its very first public presentation at the Critics’ Week is “The Big House”, an unusual documentary about the largest football stadium in the U.S. – the Michigan Stadium in Ann Arbor. Bearing the editorial trademarks of Japanese director Kazuhiro Sôda (“Campaign”, “Mental”), the film is based on an initiative by film scholars Markus Nornes and Terri Sarris. This observational documentary project arose from their seminar in the Liberal Arts faculty of the University of Michigan. Using elements of direct cinema to probe the stadium’s inner workings, the full breadth of this study of Donald Trump’s America transpires only gradually.

Romanian director Mihaela Popescu presents the world premiere of her feature debut “Yet to Rule” (“În pronunțare”), in which she fearlessly fuses traditions from the Romanian New Wave – such as unvarnished realism and an eye for institutional structures (a courtroom, in this case) – with free-flowing, fantastical narration about gender relations, dominance and the rules of communal life. Having assembled an excellent cast of actors (including the likes of Dorotheea Petre and Toma Cuzin), Popescu continues her collaboration with cinematographer Marius Panduru, known inter alia for his work with Corneliu Porumboiu and Radu Jude.

BEACH

Also celebrating its world premiere is the Spanish documentary “Searching for Oscar” (“En busca del Óscar”) by Octavio Guerra. For several months, the director accompanied the film critic Óscar Peyrou from one film festival to the next. In the process, through meticulously composed shots, the director created a dual portrait of an ageing critic and of an idiosyncratic festival society. For Peyrou is none other than the president of the Spanish Film Critics’ Association and he’s all too fond to quip about how he would rather judge a film by its poster (as a more objective indicator) than by actually watching it. Given that this statement comes from the author of “Anarchic Cinema”, it might cast doubts on the truthfulness of his every pronouncement. Guerras’ documentary strikes a stunningly assured balance between the aloof observation and the comedic reenactment of a world all too used to controlling its public image.

In 2018, the Critics’ Week reaffirms its decision to show features and shorts alongside one another. “La Bouche” by Columbian director Camilo Restrepo caters for an evening of musical performance. Having premiered at the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes, this fable-in-song about anti-patriarchal rituals of resistance is shown in Germany for the first time. Restrepo, whose membership in the analog film collective L’Abominable is certainly not irrelevant, manages to combine the prettiest colours of analog film with a chamber version utopia in a film whose style is combative and raw.

The 4th Berlin Critics’ Week takes place from February 14th till 22nd. The film program starts on Thursday, February 15th at the Hackesche Höfe Kino.

The Berlin Critics Week is organized by the German Film Critics’ Association and funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe – Multisector Funding, the Stiftung Kulturwerk of VG Bild-Kunst and the Rudolf Augstein Foundation.

0 Comments Leave a reply

    Leave a comment

    Your comment(click button to send)

Menü

LA BOUCHE

SEARCHING FOR OSCAR

YET TO RULE

THE BIG HOUSE

SCARY MOTHER

Woche der Kritik 2018: Urushadze, Popescu, Guerra, Restrepo und ein Kollektiv

Suspense aus Georgien, das kollektiv erstellte Porträt des größten amerikanischen Footballstadions, Fantastisches aus Rumänien, die Spurensuche nach dem anarchischen Potenzial des Filmkritikers im Festivalzirkus und ein Lied, um Männer aufzurütteln: Die ersten Filme aus dem Programm der WOCHE DER KRITIK 2018 stehen fest.

scary mother 2

Die WOCHE DER KRITIK eröffnet ihr Filmprogramm am 15.02. im Hackesche Höfe Kino mit dem Debüt „Scary Mother“ („Sashishi deda“) der Georgierin Ana Urushadze. Beim Locarno Filmfestival gewann es den Preis für das beste Erstlingswerk. Der psychologische Thriller folgt einer Schriftstellerin, in deren gerade abgeschlossenem Roman die Protagonistin mit großer Detailfreude schildert, wie sehr sie ihre Familie verabscheut. Als ihr Mann und ihre Kinder das erfahren, bricht die Kunst in ihr Leben ein. Inmitten brutaler Beton-Architektur entfaltet sich das absurde Drama eines Lebens zwischen Emanzipation und Repression, Vertrauen in die Kunst und Wahnsinn.

Mit The Big House“ feiert ein ungewöhnliches Dokumentarfilmprojekt über das größte Football-Stadion der USA – das in Ann Arbor gelegene Michigan Stadium – seine Uraufführung bei der WOCHE DER KRITIK. Der japanische Regisseur Kazuhiro Sôda („Campaign“, „Mental“) zeichnet für den Schnitt verantwortlich und hat das Vorhaben gemeinsam mit Markus Nornes und Terri Sarris in der „Liberal Arts“-Fakultät der Universität von Michigan angeleitet. Im Rahmen ihres Seminars ist schließlich ein beobachtender Dokumentarfilm entstanden, der Elemente des Direct Cinema aufgreift, um die zentralen Prozesse des Football-Stadions zu erkunden. Erst nach und nach wird die ganze politische Tragweite dieser Studie der Vereinigten Staaten in Zeiten von Donald Trump ersichtlich.

Die rumänische Regisseurin Mihaela Popescu präsentiert in Berlin die Weltpremiere ihres surrealen Spielfilmdebüts „Yet to Rule“ („În pronunțare“). Furchtlos verschmilzt sie darin Traditionen der rumänischen Neuen Welle – schnörkellosen Realismus und das Interesse an institutionellen Strukturen (hier einem Gerichtssaal) – mit einer frei fließenden, fantastischen Erzählung um Geschlechterverhältnisse, Dominanz und die Regeln des Zusammenlebens. Popescu setzt dabei ihre Zusammenarbeit mit Kameramann Marius Panduru fort, der unter anderem für Filme von Corneliu Porumboiu und Radu Jude bekannt ist, und hat ein herausragendes Schauspielerensemble um Dorotheea Petre und Toma Cuzin versammelt.

BEACH

Ebenfalls als Weltpremiere läuft der spanische Dokumentarfilm „Searching for Oscar“ („En busca del Óscar“) von Octavio Guerra, der den Filmkritiker Óscar Peyrou monatelang von einem Festival zum nächsten begleitet hat. In minutiös komponierten Bildern entsteht gleichzeitig das Porträt eines alternden Kritikers und das einer eigenartigen Festivalgesellschaft. Dabei ist Peyrou nicht irgendwer: Er ist Präsident der spanischen Filmkritikervereinigung und behauptet von sich, er bewerte Filme lieber nach ihren Plakaten, das sei objektiver. Dass er ein Buch mit dem Titel „Das anarchische Kino“ veröffentlicht hat, kann Anstoß geben, nicht alles, was er sagt, beim Wort zu nehmen. Guerras dokumentarische Arbeit findet eine erstaunlich souveräne Balance zwischen distanzierter Beobachtung und komödiantischer Inszenierung einer Welt, die geübt darin ist, zu kontrollieren, welches Bild sie abgibt.

Auch 2018 bleibt die WOCHE DER KRITIK der Entscheidung treu, Kurz- und Langfilme in gemeinsamen Programmen zu zeigen. Eine musikalisch-performative Reise erlaubt dabei „La Bouche“ des kolumbianischen Regisseurs Camilo Restrepo. Der Film, der bei der Quinzaine des Réalisateurs in Cannes seine Premiere hatte und erstmals in Deutschland zu sehen ist, ist eine von Gesang strukturierte Parabel auf Rituale des Widerstands gegenüber dem Patriarchat. In einen an Guerilla-Filme erinnernden, rauen Stil bettet Restrepo die schönsten analogen Filmfarben und eine kleine Form der Utopie – die auch damit verbunden ist, dass Restrepo zum kollektiven Analogfilmlabor L’Abominable gehört.

Die 4. WOCHE DER KRITIK findet vom 14. bis 22. Februar 2018 statt. Das Filmprogramm beginnt am Donnerstag, 15. Februar im Hackesche Höfe Kino.

Die WOCHE DER KRITIK ist eine Veranstaltung des Verbands der deutschen Filmkritik gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa – Spartenoffene Förderung, die Stiftung Kulturwerk der VG Bild-Kunst und die Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.

0 Kommentare Antworten

    Kommentieren

    Ihr Kommentar(Button klicken zum Senden)