Menu

WAITING FOR APRIL

MRS. HYDE

THE RUB

8TH OCTOBER 2016

HAGAZUSSA

AIR TIME

The complete film program of Berlin Critics’ Week 2018

The fourth film program of Berlin Critics’ Weeks has been finalized. It comes packed with a furtive wink from Quebec’s cinematic off-spaces in a comedy double bill with Serge Bozon’s incisive French humour as well as a bold performance from Isabelle Huppert. Also there are two experimental works from Hungary to discover, a wayward German horror film, and a film essay by Hildesheim’s young performance artists and theatricals.

A female detective stalks a singing bone surmising it to be with that handsome actor with the monkey arm. The young French-Canadian director Olivier Godin (“Les arts de la parole“, “Nouvelles, Nouvelles“) daringly proves his credentials in the absurdist comedy “Waiting for April“ (“En attendant avril“), ratcheted up in the No-Budget-Underground of Quebec. In his fourth film, the director joyfully and radically does away with cinematic conventions. None of his previous films celebrated a world premiere outside of Montreal and for the first time Godin accompanies one of his works outside of North America.

_EN ATTENDANT AVRIL_14_300DPI_

This will be followed, the very same evening by “Mrs. Hyde“ (“Madame Hyde“), the latest work of assured French actor/director Serge Bozon (“Tip Top“, “La France“) part of the group of former film critics appertaining to the journal “La Lettre du cinéma“ – in which for many years film talents flourished. Although the members of the group have as yet have little visibility internationally, in spite of their enormously impressive cinematic styles, Bozon is perhaps most felicitously on the path to changing this, following premieres at Cannes and a distinction at Locarno 2017. Once more, he partners with Isabelle Huppert, who plays here a demonically bitter teacher on the brink of nervous breakdown. After 35 hapless years in the profession, Madame Géquil transforms, during a physics experiment, into the supernatural Madame Hyde. There follows an attack on the school system, the well-meaning bourgeois society, and its films.

Berlin Critics’ Week places special emphasis on the Hungarian director duo Péter Lichter und Bori Máté, who were present as guests already in 2017 and now return with two films. Their jointly produced experimental works “The Rub“ (world premiere) and “8th October 2016“ (“2016. október 8.“, German premiere) will be shown in conjunction with other works to raise questions of filmic grammar and the political potential of cinema.

therub_still6

“The Rub“, Péter Lichter’s second feature film, invokes Shakespeare’s “Hamlet“ and the American film of the late 20th century. Using sharply detourned filmic fragments to leaf through reams of cinematic possibilities, he rolls classical forms into the mix, whereby the voice of Hamlet is that of actor/director Szabolcs Hajdu (“It’s not the Time of my Life“,“White Palms“). The short film „8th October 2016“ functions as an experimental sketch of the demise of Hungarian opposition daily “Népsabadság“. Sheet upon sheet swish by and overwhelm the eye: the filmic assault on the printed page lays bare the often invisible arbitrariness of politics.

Set in the Middle Ages, “Hagazussa“ is the graduation project of Lukas Feigelfeld (German Film and Television Academy Berlin) as it is also the closing film for this year’s Critics’ Week. The grown up daughter of an outsider woman seemingly drifts into madness after being rejected by the village community. Is she cursed? Will she become a witch? Feigelfeld opts for menacing music and dramatic visuals, which grow ever more confrontational as the narration creeps on. With “Hagazussa“ he takes a stance for unconventional artistic solutions, which do not go down smoothly in German film subsidies – hence the film’s partial crowd-funding. Shown exclusively abroad from the get-go (September 2017), the film has its German premiere in Saarbrücken at the start of the year.

Lastly, the collective film “Air Time“ hails from beyond the world of film. Six young performers, some of them members of the “VOLL:MILCH“ theatre initiative (founded in 2011) arranged this filmic essay using fragments of a YouTube video presenting a meeting of the “Mosquito Control District“ in Litchfield, USA. The only two delegates present vie passionately for attention and speaking time – all in the hope that at the other end of the broadcast someone is still watching. Running parallel is live web-cam footage from remote corners of the earth.

New Members of the Programming Team

In its choice of selection committee members, Critics’ Week subscribes to a principle of rotation. Part of the committee during 2017 were film critics Yeşim Tabak (Turkey) und Mathieu Li-Goyette (Quebec) alongside Dunja Bialas, Frédéric Jaeger and Dennis Vetter.

An Istanbulite, Yeşim Tabak has been working for the Turkish media as a film critic & editor since 1999. Within the framework of her project “AOW Productions“, she has been involved in the shooting of films, has curated artistic events and produced video and stage works. She is currently on the team of “Istanbul Silent Cinema Days“ and works as an editor for a monthly cable TV magazine.

Mathieu Li-Goyette lives in Montréal and is editor-in-chief of the online journal Panorama-cinéma. He is responsible for two book projects on Japanese cinema, uniting perspectives from film studies and film criticism. His articles and reviews have been featured in “Hors Champ“, “Pop-en-stock“ and “Sentinelle“. In addition to his doctoral studies in literature and epistemology, he teaches Japanese post-war culture and runs the “Laboratoire sur les récits du soi mobile“.

The Berlin Critics’ Week 2018 takes place from the 14th to the 22nd of February 2018. The program of films starts on Thursday, February 15th at Hackesche Höfe Cinema.

Berlin Critics Week is organized by the German Film Critics’ Association and funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe – Multisector Funding, the Stiftung Kulturwerk of VG Bild-Kunst and the Rudolf Augstein Foundation.

The Films of Berlin Critics’ Week 2018 at a Glance:

8th October 2016 (2016. október 8.)
Director: Péter Lichter, Bori Máté, HU 2017, 2 minutes, original German version – German premiere

Air Time
Director: VOLL:MILCH, Moritz Friese, Ariane Trümper, Nils Bultjer, DE 2017, 20 minutes, original English version

The Big House
Director: Kazuhiro Soda, Markus Nornes, Terri Sarris, filmmakers from the University of Michigan, USA 2018, 119 minutes, original English version – world premiere

La Bouche
Director: Camilo Restrepo, FR 2017, 19 minutes, Susu – German premiere

Hagazussa
Director: Lukas Feigelfeld, DE 2017, 102 minutes, German original with English subtitles

Mrs. Hyde (Madame Hyde)
Director: Serge Bozon, FR/BE 2017, 95 minutes, French original with English subtitles

The Rub
Director: Péter Lichter, co-director & production design: Bori Máté, HU 2018, 60 minutes, Hungarian original with English subtitles – world premiere

Scary Mother (Sashishi deda)
Director: Ana Urushadze, GE/EE 2017, 107 minutes, Georgian original with English subtitles – German premiere

Searching for Oscar (En busca del Óscar)
Director: Octavio Guerra, ES 2018, 75 minutes, Spanish original with English subtitles – world premiere

Waiting for April (En attendant avril)
Director: Olivier Godin, CA 2018, 78 minutes, French original with English subtitles – world premiere

Yet to Rule (În pronunțare)
Director: Mihaela Popescu, RO 2018, 93 minutes, Romanian original with English subtitles – world premiere

0 Comments Leave a reply

    Leave a comment

    Your comment(click button to send)

Menü

WAITING FOR APRIL

MRS. HYDE

THE RUB

8TH OCTOBER 2016

HAGAZUSSA

AIR TIME

Das komplette Filmprogramm der Woche der Kritik 2018

Das vierte Filmprogramm der Woche der Kritik ist komplett. Einen Geheimtipp aus dem Off-Kino Quebecs zeigen wir im Komödien-Doublefeature mit Serge Bozons scharfem französischen Humor und einer kühnen Isabelle Huppert. Zu entdecken gibt es außerdem Experimentelles aus Ungarn, einen eigenwilligen Horrorfilm aus Deutschland sowie ein Filmessay junger PerfomancekünstlerInnen aus der Hildesheimer Theaterszene.

Eine Detektivin ist einem singenden Knochen auf der Spur und vermutet ihn beim schönen Schauspieler mit dem Affenarm. Die absurde Komödie „Waiting for April“ („En attendant avril“) ist im No-Budget-Underground von Quebec entstanden und stellt den Wagemut des jungen Frankokanadiers Olivier Godin („Les arts de la parole“, „Nouvelles, Nouvelles“) eindrucksvoll unter Beweis. Mit Vergnügen wirbelt er in seinem vierten Spielfilm die Konventionen des etablierten Kinos durcheinander und demonstriert dabei gleichermaßen seinen Sinn für Humor und radikale Formentscheidungen. Noch nie erlebte ein Film von Olivier Godin seine Weltpremiere jenseits von Montreal und erstmals stellt Godin einen seiner Filme außerhalb Nordamerikas persönlich vor.

_EN ATTENDANT AVRIL_14_300DPI_

Am gleichen Abend folgt „Mrs. Hyde“ („Madame Hyde“), die neueste Arbeit des scharfsinnigen französischen Schauspielers und Regisseurs Serge Bozon („Tip Top“, „La France“). Er gehört zu einer Gruppe ehemaliger Filmkritiker des Magazins „La Lettre du cinéma“, die seit Jahren ihr Talent als FilmemacherInnen unter Beweis stellen. Während die Mitglieder der Gruppe trotz ihres eindrucksvollen filmischen Stils international noch zu selten sichtbar sind, ist Bozon nach Premieren in Cannes und einer Auszeichnung in Locarno 2017 auf dem besten Weg, das zu ändern. Erneut arbeitet er mit Isabelle Huppert, die hier teuflisch bitter die Lehrerin Madame Géquil am Rande des Nervenzusammenbruchs gibt. Nach 35 erfolglosen Berufsjahren verwandelt sie sich durch ein Physikexperiment in das übernatürliche Wesen Madame Hyde. Es folgt ein Angriff auf die Schule, die wohlmeinende bürgerliche Gesellschaft und die Filme über sie.

Einen besonderen Akzent setzt die Woche der Kritik auf ein ungarisches Regie-Duo, das gleich mit zwei Arbeiten im Programm vertreten ist und bereits 2017 zu Gast in Berlin war: Péter Lichter und Bori Máté. Ihre gemeinsam ausgearbeiteten Experimentalfilme „The Rub“ (Weltpremiere) und „8th October 2016“ („2016. október 8.“, Deutschlandpremiere) werden in Doppelprogrammen mit anderen Arbeiten zu sehen sein und werfen Fragen zu Filmgrammatik und zu den politischen Potenzialen des Kinos auf.

therub_still6

„The Rub“, Péter Lichters zweiter Langfilm, beschwört Shakespeares „Hamlet“ und das US-Kino des späten 20. Jahrhunderts. In stark verfremdeten Filmfragmenten entfaltet er das Kino in seinen Möglichkeiten und fordert zugleich die Umwälzung klassischer Formen ein. Hamlets Stimme gibt dabei der Schauspieler und Filmemacher Szabolcs Hajdu („It’s not the Time of my Life“, „White Palms“). Der Kurzfilm „8th October 2016“ funktioniert als experimentelle Skizze des Niedergangs einer oppositionellen ungarischen Tageszeitung. Seiten über Seiten rasen am Auge vorbei und überfordern den Blick. Durch den filmischen Angriff auf die Druckseiten finden die FilmemacherInnen einen Ausdruck für die zu oft unsichtbar bleibende politische Willkür.

„Hagazussa“ spielt im Mittelalter und ist sowohl der Abschlussfilm des DFFB-Studenten Lukas Feigelfeld als auch der diesjährigen Woche der Kritik. Die erwachsene Tochter einer Außenseiterin wird darin von der Dorfgemeinschaft verstoßen und scheint in den Wahnsinn abzudriften. Ist sie verflucht und wird zur Hexe? Feigelfeld entscheidet sich für dröhnende Musik und drastische Bilder, die über die langsame Erzählweise des Films hinweg immer konfrontativer werden. Er verteidigt mit „Hagazussa“ eigenwillige künstlerische Entscheidungen, die es insbesondere im deutschen Förderkino zu oft schwer haben, und setzte deshalb teils auf eine Crowdfunding-Finanzierung. Der Film war seit seiner Premiere im September 2017 bisher nur im Ausland zu sehen und erlebt Anfang des Jahres seine Deutschlandpremiere in Saarbrücken.

Der Kollektiv-Film „Air Time“ schließlich stammt nicht aus dem Kinokontext. Das Filmessay wurde durch eine sechsköpfige Gruppe um die 2011 gestartete Theaterinitiative „VOLL:MILCH“ inszeniert und basiert auf einem Youtube-Videofragment: einer Sitzung des „Mosquito Control District“ in Litchfield, USA. Zwei Delegierte sind die alleinigen Anwesenden eines Verwaltungsaktes und kämpfen mit entschiedenen Worten um Aufmerksamkeit und Sendezeit, in der Hoffnung darauf, dass auf der anderen Seite der Kamera noch jemand der Übertragung folgt. Daneben treten Bilder von Live-Webcams und erkunden entlegene Orte der Welt.

Neue Mitglieder des Programmteams

Die Woche der Kritik verfolgt bei der Besetzung der Auswahlkommission das Prinzip rotierender Teammitglieder. 2017 waren erstmals die FilmkritikerInnen Yeşim Tabak (Türkei) und Mathieu Li-Goyette (Quebec) neben Dunja Bialas, Frédéric Jaeger und Dennis Vetter an der Auswahl beteiligt.

Yeşim Tabak lebt in Istanbul und arbeitet seit 1999 als Filmkritikerin und Redakteurin für verschiedene türkische Medien. Im Rahmen ihres Projekts „AOW Productions“ begleitete sie Dreharbeiten von Filmen, kuratierte Kunstveranstaltungen und produzierte Video- und Bühnenarbeiten. Aktuell wirkt sie im Team der „Istanbul Silent Cinema Days“ mit und arbeitet als Redakteurin eines monatlichen Fernsehformats.

Mathieu Li-Goyette lebt in Montréal und ist Chefredakteur des Onlinemagazins Panorama-cinéma. Er betreute zwei Buchprojekte zum japanischen Kino, die Positionen der Filmkritik und Filmwissenschaft verbinden. Seine Kritiken und Artikel erschienen in „Hors Champ“, „Pop-en-stock“ sowie „Sentinelle“. Er promoviert in Literaturwissenschaft und Erkenntnistheorie, lehrt zur visuellen Nachkriegskultur Japans und betreut das „Laboratoire sur les récits du soi mobile“.

Die Woche der Kritik 2018 findet vom 14. bis 22. Februar 2018 statt. Das Filmprogramm beginnt am Donnerstag, 15. Februar im Hackesche Höfe Kino.

Die Woche der Kritik ist eine Veranstaltung des Verbands der deutschen Filmkritik gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa – Spartenoffene Förderung, die Stiftung Kulturwerk der VG Bild-Kunst und die Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.

Alle Filme der Woche der Kritik 2018 im Überblick

8th October 2016 (2016. október 8.)
Regie: Péter Lichter, Bori Máté, HU 2017, 2 Min., o.D. – Deutschlandpremiere

Air Time
Regie: VOLL:MILCH, Moritz Friese, Ariane Trümper, Nils Bultjer, DE 2017, 20 Min., englische OF

The Big House
Regie: Kazuhiro Soda, Markus Nornes, Terri Sarris, FilmemacherInnen der University of Michigan, USA 2018, 119 Min., englische OF – Weltpremiere

La Bouche
Regie: Camilo Restrepo, FR 2017, 19 Min., Susu – Deutschlandpremiere

Hagazussa
Regie: Lukas Feigelfeld, DE 2017, 102 Min., Deutsche OmeU

Mrs. Hyde (Madame Hyde)
Regie: Serge Bozon, FR/BE 2017, 95 Min., französische OmeU

The Rub
Regie: Péter Lichter, Co-Regie & Produktionsdesign: Bori Máté, HU 2018, 60 Min., ungarische OmeU – Weltpremiere

Scary Mother (Sashishi deda)
Regie: Ana Urushadze, GE/EE 2017, 107 Min., georgische OmeU – Deutschlandpremiere

Searching for Oscar (En busca del Óscar)
Regie: Octavio Guerra, ES 2018, 75 Min., spanische OmeU – Weltpremiere

Waiting for April (En attendant avril)
Regie: Olivier Godin, CA 2018, 78 Min., französische OmeU – Weltpremiere

Yet to Rule (În pronunțare)
Regie: Mihaela Popescu, RO 2018, 93 Min., rumänische OmeU – Weltpremiere

0 Kommentare Antworten

    Kommentieren

    Ihr Kommentar(Button klicken zum Senden)