Menu

Opening conference and poster campaign

News, News 2022

Opening conference and poster campaign

Opening conference and poster campaign

Is standstill forbidden? The sort of “progress” cinema needs
The opening conference of the Berlin Critics’ Week 2022 on February 9.

Participants include Nadav Lapid (director, “Synonymes”), Bojana Kunst (philosopher), Simone Baumann (managing director of German Films), Georg Seeßlen (author and critic), Cíntia Gil (curator), and more. In cooperation with the section Film and Media Art of the Akademie der Künste.

The Berlinale is about to begin – with a focus on working conditions within the film industry, set by their Talents programme. The newly formed German government, in their coalition agreement, have vowed to “Dare More Progress”. It’s a sentiment that was proclaimed often throughout the pandemic, especially within the cultural sphere: never again back to the old ways! For two years now, diffuse promises and differing concepts of progress – ideas that land somewhere between capitalism and social revolution – have been floating in the ether, and with them, the hope that society and art might gain new knowledge or insights during the recurring lockdowns by hitting the reset button. For in these ‘standstill’ periods, social routines are suspended, and some even thrown into question. The term itself calls to mind the threat of stagnation; at the same time, it invites a casual refusal of productivity. But is this state of ‘standstill’ really the seedbed of change? Regression, revolution or deceleration – where will the next steps lead societies around the world?

During the opening conference of Berlin Critics’ Week, we will explore the paradoxical site of tension where the various dreams of progress relate to a society that has hit pause and stepped back to reflect, with two panels and two lectures at the Akademie der Künste in Berlin. We want to discuss how the notion of a progressive cinema and a progressive film culture currently stand, and how they each relate to the ways that ideas of ‘standstill’ are manifest in art and politics today.

Which particular kinds of progress can bring film culture and politics forward, and which kinds are best avoided? To discuss their attitudes towards progress, we have invited Simone Baumann, the managing director of German Films, who recently co-produced the documentary “The Cars We Drove into Capitalism”, as well as curator Cíntia Gil, the former Festival Director of the Sheffield DocFest. We will ask both Baumann and Gil – who stepped down from Sheffield DocFest earlier this year because of “irreconcilable artistic differences with the Board of Trustees” – as well as the other guests what conclusions they, as decision makers, have drawn from the past months; by what standards should the film industry and the festival landscape organise themselves, in order to strengthen and support current and upcoming voices in cinema?

Unlike in economics or social politics, the concepts of ‘standstill’ and ‘progress’ are not always mutually exclusive, especially when talking about aesthetics or philosophy. Therefore, in a second conversation, we specifically address the question of which aesthetic strategies become important during these periods of societal standstill? Which cinematic movements gain momentum in social crises – and which become obsolete? We will discuss, among others, with filmmaker and Golden Bear-winner Nadav Lapid, whose restless film “Synonymes”, made a year before the pandemic, virtuously upended categories such as identity, nationality, migration and society, striking a nerve. We want to find out whether his film already feels historic today and how he has looked at his images since.

A keynote by Bojana Kunst and a lecture by Georg Seeßlen will frame the talks. In her work, Bojana Kunst (“The Life of Art – Transversal Lines of Care”) negotiates, among other questions, the ways that creativity and productivity are influenced by time, and the relationship between art and capitalism. We asked her to put into words for us her perspective on the dialectic between ‘standstill’ and ‘progress’. Georg Seeßlen (“The Second Wave: Corona & Culture: An Aesthetics of Crisis – A Crisis of Aesthetics”) is currently a participating observer of our closed industry workshop “Perfect Film Funding in an Imperfect World“, where we playfully develop and discuss alternatives to existing models of film funding with international representatives. He will report on the results of the discussions in his lecture.

Currently confirmed speakers of the opening conference:

Bojana Kunst
– Philosopher, dramaturg and performance art theorist, professor at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies, Justus Liebig University Gießen
Georg Seeßlen – Author and film critic
Simone Baumann – Managing Director of German Films and producer
Cíntia Gil – Film curator, previous Festival Director of Doclisboa and Sheffield DocFest
Nadav Lapid – Director, his most recent works are ”Ahed’s Knee” (2021) and ”Synonymes“ (Golden Bear-winner, Berlinale 2019)

Workshop Participants:

Jemma Desai, UK: Programmer, researcher and writer; Head of Programming Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival
Flavia Dima, Romania: Film Critic, curator and programmer
Marina Gumzi, Slovenia/Germany: Producer, scriptwriter and researcher of screen culture with a background in dramaturgy and performance art; Managing Director of Ljubljana-based production studio NOSOROGI
Shine Louise Houston, USA: Founding producer and director of Pink & White Productions, (CrashPadSeries.com, PinkLabel.tv), creates adult cinema and queer-made porn
Yulia Serdyukova, Ukraine: Film producer, curator and queer feminist activist; one of the organisers of Filma. Feminist Film Festival; founder of yutopia films, which focuces on producing films of various formats and genres with strong authorial points of view and a critical approach towards dominant discourses
JP Sniadecki, USA: Filmmaker and anthropologist; Professor of Documentary Media at Northwestern University in Chicago and member of the Sensory Ethnography Lab
Tan Bee Thiam, Singapore: Producer, director, writer and editor with the independent film collective 13 Little Pictures
Davani Varillas, Mexico: Member of the Colectivo Los Ingrávidos, an avant-garde film collective formed in 2012
Zeynep Güzel, Turkey: Filmmaker (first feature “Come Rain or Shine”, 2019) and Co-Founder of New Film Fund, Turkey’s first private documentary fund, established in 2015

Intervening against one-dimensional perspectives: The new visual campaign for Berlin Critics’ Week

This year’s visual campaign for Berlin Critics’ Week was once again designed by our long-time graphic designer Kai Bergmann. It is based on a still image from Bruno Dumont’s iconoclastic film “Jeanne d’Arc” – inspired by the filmmaker’s playful revision of a contested historical figure. We sincerely thank the film’s distributor Grandfilm for their kind permission to use the original motif and we hope for intense discussions around the film programme of the Berlin Critics’ Week from February 9–17.

bergmannstudios.de / Instagram: @_kaibergmann
https://grandfilm.de/
The photo motif for this year’s opening conference was provided by Leipzig-based photographer Regina Susanne Borchert (https://regina-susanne.de).

Menü

Eröffnungskonferenz und Posterkampagne

News, News 2022

Eröffnungskonferenz und Posterkampagne

Eröffnungskonferenz und Posterkampagne

Stillstand verboten? – Welche Fortschritte das Kino braucht
Die Konferenz zur Woche der Kritik 2022 am 9. Februar

Unter anderem mit Nadav Lapid (Regisseur, „Synonymes“), Bojana Kunst (Philosophin), Simone Baumann (Geschäftsführerin German Films), Georg Seeßlen (Autor & Kritiker), Cíntia Gil (Kuratorin). In Kooperation mit der Sektion Film- und Medienkunst der Akademie der Künste.

Die Berlinale steht in den Startlöchern – mit einen Schwerpunkt zu Arbeitsbedingungen in der Filmwirtschaft. Die neue Bundesregierung will ​​„mehr Fortschritt wagen“. Immer wieder wurde es ausgerufen während der Pandemie, nicht zuletzt in der Kulturszene: Nie mehr zurück zur alten Normalität! Seit zwei Jahren liegen diffuse Fortschrittsversprechen und Fortschrittsbegriffe in der Luft – irgendwo zwischen Kapitalismus und Sozialrevolution – und damit verbunden die Hoffnung, die Gesellschaft und die Kunst könnten durch den verordneten Stillstand während der wiederkehrenden Lockdowns zu neuen Einsichten gelangen. Denn im Stillstand setzen gesellschaftliche Routinen aus, den Begriff umgibt die Drohung der Stagnation, gleichermaßen lädt er zur lässigen Verweigerung der Produktivität ein. Doch steckt im Stillstand tatsächlich der Keim des Wandels? Regression, Revolution oder Degrowth – wohin wird die Reise gehen?

In der Eröffnungskonferenz zur Woche der Kritik begeben wir uns in der Akademie der Künste mit zwei Podien und zwei Vorträgen in das paradoxe Spannungsfeld zwischen Stillstandsgeboten und Fortschrittsträumen. Wir wollen diskutieren, wie es derzeit um die Ideen eines progressiven Kinos und einer progressiven Filmkultur steht und wie sich diese zu den jüngsten Erscheinungsformen des gesellschaftlichen Stillstands verhalten.

Welches Fortschrittsdenken die Filmpolitik und die Filmkultur aus ihrer Perspektive heute vertragen könnten oder vermeiden sollten, darüber reden wir unter anderem mit Simone Baumann, der Geschäftsführerin von German Films, die zuletzt den Dokumentarfilm „The Cars We Drove into Capitalism“ koproduzierte, sowie der Kuratorin Cíntia Gil, die bis vor Kurzem das Sheffield DocFest leitete und dort mit unüberbrückbaren künstlerischen Differenzen konfrontiert wurde. Wir wollen von ihnen und weiteren Gästen wissen, welche Schlüsse sie als Entscheidungsträger*innen aus den vergangenen Monaten gezogen haben. Nach welchen Maßstäben sollten die Filmbranche und die Festivallandschaft sich organisieren, um die aktuellen und kommenden Stimmen des Kinos entschieden zu stärken?

Anders als in der Wirtschaft und in der Gesellschaftspolitik schließen besonders in der Ästhetik und der Philosophie Stillstand und Fortschritt einander nicht aus. Deshalb widmen wir uns in einem zweiten Gespräch gezielt der Frage, welche ästhetischen Strategien im Moment des gesellschaftlichen Stockens wichtig werden, welche filmischen Bewegungen in gesellschaftlichen Krisen an Dynamik gewinnen – und welche obsolet werden. Wir diskutieren unter anderem mit dem Filmemacher und Berlinale-Preisträger Nadav Lapid, der mit seinem rastlosen Film „Synonymes“ ein Jahr vor der Pandemie die filmische Darstellung von Kategorien wie Identität, Nationalität, Migration und Gesellschaft auf virtuose Weise umwälzte und damit einen Nerv traf. Von ihm wollen wir erfahren, ob sich sein Film heute bereits historisch anfühlt und wie er seither auf seine Bilder blickt.

Eine Keynote von Bojana Kunst und ein Vortrag von Georg Seeßlen rahmen die Gespräche. Bojana Kunst („The Life of Art – Transversal Lines of Care“) verhandelt in ihrer Arbeit unter anderem die Zeitlichkeit des künstlerischen Arbeitsprozesses sowie das Verhältnis von Kunst und Kapitalismus. Wir haben sie gebeten, für uns die Dialektik von Stillstand und Fortschritt aus ihrer Perspektive in Worte zu fassen. Georg Seeßlen („Die zweite Welle: Corona & Kultur: Eine Ästhetik der Krise – Eine Krise der Ästhetik“) ist derzeit teilnehmender Beobachter unseres brancheninternen Workshops „Perfect Film Funding in an Imperfect World“, bei dem wir mit internationalen Vertreter*innen der Filmlandschaft spielerisch und systemübergreifend Alternativen zum Status quo bestehender Modelle von Filmförderung entwickeln und diskutieren. In seinem Vortrag wird er von den Ergebnissen berichten.

Bisher bestätigte Gäste der Veranstaltung:

Bojana Kunst – Philosophin, Dramaturgiin, Performancekunst-Theoretikerin & Professorin für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen
Georg Seeßlen – Autor & Filmkritiker
Simone Baumann – Geschäftsführerin German Films & Produzentin
Cíntia Gil – Kuratorin (u.a. Doclisboa, Sheffield Doc/Fest)
Nadav Lapid – Filmemacher: u.a. „Ahed’s Knee“, „Synonymes“ (Goldener Bär Berlinale 2019)

Workshopteilnehmer*innen:

Jemma Desai, Großbritannien: Kuratorin, Autorin, Medienwissenschaftlerin, Leiterin der Programmabteilung beim Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival
Flavia Dima, Rumänien: Filmkritikerin, Kuratorin
Marina Gumzi, Slowenien/Deutschland: Produzentin, Drehbuchautorin, Medienwissenschaftlerin, Geschäftsführerin des Produktionsstudios NOSOROGI
Shine Louise Houston, USA: Produzentin und Regisseurin, Gründerin von Pink & White Productions (CrashPadSeries.com, PinkLabel.tv) mit Fokus auf queeren Pornos
Yulia Serdyukova, Ukraine: Filmproduzentin, Kuratorin und queerfeministische Aktivistin; eine der Organisatorinnen des Filma. Feminist Film Festivals; Gründerin von yutopia films
JP Sniadecki, USA: Filmemacher, Anthropologe und Professor für dokumentarische Medien an der Northwestern University in Chicago, Mitglied im Sensory Ethnography Lab
Tan Bee Thiam, Singapur: Produzent, Regisseur, Autor und Cutter bei 13 Little Pictures, einem unabhängigen Filmkollektiv
Davani Varillas, Mexiko: Mitglied vom Colectivo Los Ingrávidos, einem radikalen, avantgardistischen Filmkollektiv (gegründet 2012)
Zeynep Güzel, Türkei: Mitgründerin des New Film Fund (erstes privates Dokumentarfilm-Förderprogramm der Türkei) im Jahr 2015; 2019 veröffentlichte si ihr Langfilmdebüt „Come Rain or Shine“

Brüche gegen eindimensionale Perspektiven – Das neue Plakat zur Woche der Kritik

Die diesjährige grafische Kampagne zur Woche der Kritik hat erneut unser langjähriger Grafiker Kai Bergmann gestaltet. Im Zentrum steht ein Foto aus Bruno Dumonts Film „Jeanne d’Arc“ – und somit sein Spiel mit einer umkämpften Figur, bei der sich die Film- und Kunstgeschichte seit langen Jahren um gesellschaftliche, historische und religiöse Deutungshoheiten streitet. Wir danken ganz herzlich dem Verleih Grandfilm für die freundliche Genehmigung zur Verwendung des Ursprungsmotivs und hoffen für den 9. bis 17. Februar auf intensive Diskussionen um das Filmprogramm der Woche der Kritik.

bergmannstudios.de / Instagram: @_kaibergmann

https://grandfilm.de/

Das Fotomotiv zur diesjährigen Eröffnungskonferenz stammt von der Leipziger Fotografin Regina Susanne Borchert (https://regina-susanne.de).